Home
E-map
Home / Travel Guide / Business Tips     

Area:
7434.4 square km, 4.18% of the whole province

Population:
8.8655 million in the urban area and 1.3165 million in the country cities.

Language:
Mandarin and Cantonese are widely spoken

Accommodation:
There are many star-rating hotels in the urban area of Guangzhou. Hotels with great facilities can also be found in other surrounding cities if you would like to stay in Panyu, Dongguan or Foshan, all of which are within an hour抯 ride.

Food and Dinks:
Cantonese cuisine is the principal cuisine in Guangzhou, and the famous restaurants include Guangzhou Restaurant, Banxi Restaurant, Tao Tao Ju Restaurant, Lian Xiang Lou, and Beiyuan Restaurant. Besides, there are various folk restaurants such as Korean, Vietnam, Indian, Italian, Southeast Asian, Muslin, Japanese, and Western restaurant. Guangzhou has been long awarded the reputation of "Dine in Guangzhou".

Office Hours of Local Government Agencies
8:30 ~ 12:00, 14:00 ~ 17:30 Mondays to Fridays;
Closed on Saturdays and Sundays.

Communications:
It is very convenient to communicate with outside world. You can dial directly and communicate with more than 500 cities at home and abroad, and in the region of Hong Kong and Macao.
The country code of China is 86 and the city code of Guangzhou is 020.

Electricity:
220V, 50~AC

Weights and Measures:
Guangzhou uses the metric system. kilogram, meter, and litre are most commonly used.
1 kilogram = 2.205 pounds
1 metre = 3.281 feet
1 litre = 0.220 gallon

Time Difference (Take monday in GZ as an example):
Guangzhou (Beijing, Hong Kong): 8:00 (0) (Monday)
New York:19:00 (-13) (Sunday)
London (Paris):0:00 (-8) (Monday)
Tokyo:9:00 (+1) (Monday)
Sydney:10:00 (+2) (Monday)

Climate:
Hot, humid & rainy in summer; cool, dry & less rainy in winter.

(The above information is provided for reference only.)


 

Contact Us  |  Feedback  |  Site Map  |  Copyright  |  Links
COPYRIGHT © 2008 CHINA FOREIGN TRADE CENTRE. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.